The Scribd Archive

A few weeks ago we launched a program called the Scribd Archive to encourage readers to contribute to the Scribd community. They could do this by uploading their own documents in order to download older documents in the Archive or pay a small fee. This does not restrict the ability to read and share content on Scribd.

Here are some important points to know about the Scribd Archive:

  • Clear opt-out — anyone uploading to the site will be informed about The Archive and can easily opt-out of the program here; we will also post clear information about The Archive on your “My Docs” profile page.
  • Proactive messaging — you’ll be notified when your documents are ready for the Archive and again given the opportunity to opt-out of the program; we will also prominently let readers know that if they want to download for free, they can simply join the community and upload a document.
  • Community advisory board — we’ve established a Scribd User Advisory Board (SUAB) to help ensure that we incorporate community feedback on upcoming Scribd products.

Our goal is to bring readers and creators of content together using the inherent efficiencies of the Internet and other technologies. We’re constantly learning new ways to do this better. If you have questions/concerns about The Scribd Archive or other Scribd products, please email me directly at tripadler@scribd.com.

–Trip, CEO and Co-founder

25 responses to “The Scribd Archive

  1. I would much rather pay for a “premium” account similar to Flickr’s and have control over who has what level of access to the docs I post at Scribd. The archive idea will only confuse my readers and possibly send them off to get their info elsewhere. That won’t help any of us.

    • Hi!! First of all congratulations on your great site. When I first got mraeird I discovered on my husbands cell phone bill a number which kept repeating itself with many minutes of call time. I got suspicious of his ex and called the number and a child answered I immediately asked for his moms name and surely enough it was her. She was making calls to my husband and he was calling her also. I got pretty mad and told her off as well as my husband I gave him an apportunity if he ended this. Well he did, but I can’t seem to trust him now. Sometimes I check his bill and her number has never shown up again, but what if she changed it? and is still calling him? How can I eavesdrop on his cell phone conversations and find out?, please help me . I find some numbers on his cell bill but I can’t keep on calling everyone. He is a sales person so he has many numbers that call him. I will appreciate very much your help.thank youkrystal

    • Hi, I recently jnoied twitter and I’m still finding my way around, mapping out my personal and shared interests. So it was good to see your post, this site and the openness for creating dialogue with other interested people.I’d like to become more involved as I’ve had a long association with photography at many levels but enjoy the photography book format for presenting work. At some point I’d like to submit a guest post and I have several books to nominate for comment. Let’s start with Lucinda Devlin’s The omega Suites!I can be found on twitter @MischiefMalcolm

  2. I would much rather pay for a “premium” account similar to Flickr’s and have control over who has what level of access to the docs I post at Scribd. The archive idea will only confuse my readers and possibly send them off to get their info elsewhere. That won’t help any of us.

  3. Pingback: Scribd Posts A Public Apology To Vocal Critic, Then Takes It Back | IApology

  4. Pingback: renaissance chambara | Ged Carroll - Links of the day

  5. I’m not quite buying this ‘apology’.

    You’re making money off the copyrighted works without letting them benefit as well.

    I’ve deleted any material I uploaded onto Scribd and I won’t be using them in the future. This is far too little and far too late.

  6. If folks aren’t happy with the response there are numerous other options, such as smashwords. I have decided to keep the few documents I have already uploaded to my scribd account on the service and just opt-out until I believe that my writing quality has improved enough to feel comfortable with earning money from my manuscripts. As it is, I am just happy to get feedback and some well-needed exposure for the time being.

  7. I notice that my original comment was deleted. Hummm…how old are you scrib.d ? Your public relations suck. I would love to have the time to write a blog post about your poor customer relations, but don’t have the time to expose you…so keep on fucking yourself over in the name of profit

    • intrusion countermeasures elncorteics?? fuck.begin1=!!=1 typical me:#cellular :: l0cke) can someone please explain a DDI to me? I can’t find any information on it on the net.#cellular :: l0cke) very kewl, ty. Does anyone know anything about NPA codes?#cellular :: l0cke) damn, everyone fell asleep. lame. I have school in three hours. oh well, I’ll sleep in English class or Algebra I. #cellular :: l0cke) Even my teachers and stalkers from school IRC and copy my logs I woke up bound to a chair one morning blindfolded listening to tool in my room and thought I’d fallen asleep in bed until the chair fell over. Well, I thought it was my room anyway.

    • Ray:You don’t need to sign up. If the Class action is cifetried (approved) by the court, all vested retired players will automatically be part of the lawsuit. I’ll keep you posted!Jeff Nixon

  8. Pingback: Kalingeling-Schulterblick: 21.09.-25.09.2010 « Kalingeling – Verdienstkonzepte im Netz

  9. My readers complained to me because they don’t want to sign up in scribd.com for downloading my documents
    What do I do please?

  10. Pingback: Admired Services Electronic Components Industry News @ Admired Electronic Components Blog

  11. I believe that Scribd archive goes against the original principles of Scribd. How that was commented, Scribd has milions of files, posted by users, not to be sale but to be distributed.

    I`ve already tolk about scribd to my friends, but now, I`ll not to do this anymore.

    Bye.

    Adrian.

  12. Pingback: The Scribd Blog « Indigenous People’s Literature Weblog

  13. According to Goldman, he received the following email earlier from the Scribd communications team, which includes a link to an apology blog post from CEO Trip Adler which commits to making changes to the archive program. Despite the outreach to Goldman in order promote the public response, within an hour the post was down, replaced by a 404 page.
    ColoPure Cleanse

  14. Do you mean that Scribd members can read and download freely but non-members can read freely but must pay to download except they join? Just to be sure to know what I’m opting out of.

    I think some of us would like to encourage Scribd. But we also want our materials available to all.

  15. Do you mean that Scribd members can read and download freely but non-members can read freely but must pay to download except they join? Just to be sure to know what I’m opting out of.
    I think some of us would like to encourage Scribd. But we also want our materials available to all.

  16. Pingback: The Morning Lowdown 09.22.10 — paidContent

  17. Credit card fraud is not a good idea. I stole some crads from some tachers at my scohol checked the spending limit, everything (PO box, different IP address everytime, disposible cell phones, not telling anyone, everything) and i still get caught. Anyone can tell you its easy to do, it is. But the consiquences totally outway the rewards of under $2000 remember. If you want free stuff, go to a store and jack it like veryone else, way easier and greater instant satisfaction.

  18. Pingback: Scribd Puts My Old Uploads Behind a Paywall and Goes Onto My Shitlist

  19. I was thinking maybe I could print this, and cut out (on red tag-board) ltltie doors to open for the kids. These are really great ideas for a nativity calendar. Thanks for posting this, Abby!

  20. Scribd has once again used a deceptive bait and switch policy. I have spent a massive amount of effort on developing a user friendly user interface that used the scribed api to display pdf documents within my application. Scribd had now just changed the user interface of the API to advertise their book library within my application, adding a search button to search their library. This has completely wrecked my user interface. The company is dishonest, and uses a bait and switch strategy to get people to use their system and then after you’ve put thousands of hours of development into it, they destroy all your work for their own marketing ends. . I strongly recommend that no developer deals with this company. Do not use their API’s!

Leave a Reply

